High Peaks Announces Its 2022 Hike Schedule

High Peaks is scheduling hikes every month of 2022.  There will be two levels of hiking, an easier and shorter hike and a longer strenuous hike.  Hikers should carefully evaluate their fitness level before signing up for any of our hikes.  Hikes are subject to change.  An announcement for each hike will be published here a week or two before the hike.  

Date/Difficulty Trail Name Length, Leader
Sat Jan 1 - Moderate or Easy

Upper or Lower River Loop plus Setrock Creek Falls

2.5 to 3.4 miles Duke, Joe & John,

Fri Feb 4 - Easy Roaring Fork Falls with option for a longer hike. 1.5 miles - Duke & Gay
Feb - Moderate Stroll TBD  
Fri March 4 - Strenuous Colbert Loop  7 miles -  Dennis
March Easy Hike TBD  
Fri April 1 -  Strenuous Overmountain Victory Trail 9 miles - Dennis
Sat April 9 - Moderate Wildflower Stroll - Lower River Loop 3 miles - 
Thur April 28 - Moderate Lake James Cemeteries 3 miles - Kevin
Fri May 6 -  Strenuous Lost Cove 8 miles - Jake
Thur May 12 -  Moderate Boone Fork (Grandfather Mountain) 5 miles - 
Fri June 3 - Strenuous Beauty Spot to Unaka Mtn 6 miles - Dennis
Thur June 9-  Easy Rhododendron Gardens at Roan Mountain 1 mile with option for longer hike
Fri July 1-  Strenuous NC 128 to Walker Knob Overlook 6 miles -
Fri July 15 -  Moderate Blue Ridge Pinnacle/Green Knob Fire Tower 3 miles - John
Fri August 5 -  Strenuous Big Butt Trail

6 miles - 

Thur 18 August - Easy Craggy Gardens and Craggy Pinnacle

2 miles - 

Fri Sept 2 - Strenuous Mount Mitchell Loop 7 miles - 
Fri Sept 9 - Moderate Mount Craig with Option to Big Tom 3 miles - 
Fri Oct 7 - Very Strenuous Buncombe Horse Range Trail 10 miles - 
Fri Oct 7 - Moderate High Rocks on the Appalachian Trail 4 miles - 
Fri Nov 4 - Very Strenuous Mount Mitchell to Deep Gap

9 miles - 

Sat Nov 12 - Moderate NC 128 to Lunch Rock 3 miles - 
Fri Dec 2 - Very Strenuous Woody Ridge/Black Mountain Crest Trail/Colbert Ridge 9 miles
Sat Dec 10 - Moderate Lake James Hiking Trails  

NOTE:  Hike dates and details subject to change.

Some restrictions may apply depending on how the Covid Pandemic progresses.  Full vaccination is highly recommended.

Interested in leading a hike?  We welcome new and experienced hike leaders.  A guide for hike leaders can be found at:

https://nchighpeaks.org/leaders

Contact Dennis Smith at (828) 284-4000 or dennissmith4141@gmail.com if you are interested in leading one of the longer hikes.  Contact Carolyn Raichle at ‭(407) 619-6136‬ if you are interested in leading one of the shorter hikes.  Hike leaders may suggest their own favorite hike in lieu of a scheduled hike.

For general information on hiking contact John Whitehouse at trails@nchighpeaks.org